Skip Navigation
Menu

Research Interest and Contact Information

Photo of Lauren Aleksunes

Lauren Aleksunes, Pharm.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Phone: (848) 445-5518
Email: aleksunes@eohsi.rutgers.edu

Research: Membrane drug transporters
Publications

Photo of Tracy Anthony

Tracy G. Anthony, Ph.D., Professor

Department of Nutritional Sciences
Phone: 848-932-6331
Email: tracy.anthony@rutgers.edu

Research: Regulation of lipid metabolism by amino acids
Publications

Paul Breslin, Ph.D., Professor

Department of Nutritional Sciences
Phone: 848-932-6080
Email: pasb@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Genetic basis of human oral perception and its impact on nutrient intake
Publications

Moshmi Bhattacharya

Moshmi Bhattacharya, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Department of Medicine, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Phone: 732-235-5269
Email: moshmi.bhattacharya@rutgers.edu

Research: Regulation of lipid metabolism in non-alcholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD)
Publications

Christoph Buettner, M.D., Ph.D., Professor and Chancellor Scholar

Department of Medicine, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Phone: 732-235-6336
Email: cb1116@rwjms.rutgers.edu

Research: Adipose tissue function and brain inflammation
Publications

Dawn L. Brasaemle

Dawn L. Brasaemle, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus

Nutritional Sciences, SEBS
Email: dawn.brasaemle@rutgers.edu

Research: Biology of neutral lipid storage and release, functions of lipid droplet-associated proteins
Publications

Sara Campbell

Sara C. Campbell, PhD, Associate Professor

Department of Kinesiology and Health, SAS
Phone: 848-932-7036
Email: saracamp@rci.rutgers.edu

Research: Obesity and gut microbiome, dietary fat and intestinal integrity, exercise, omega-3s and inflammation
Publications

George Carman

George M. Carman, Ph.D., Board of Governors Professor and Director RCLR

Food Science, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-0267
Email: gcarman@rutgers.edu

Research: Regulation of lipid metabolism
Publications

Photo: Joseph L. Dixon, Ph.D., Associate Professor.

Joseph L. Dixon, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Nutritional Sciences, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-9039
Email: dixon@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Lipoprotein metabolism, lipid metabolism in diabetes and obesity
Publications

Radek Dobrowolski

Radek Dobrowolski, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Federated Department of Biological Sciences, Rutgers Newark
Phone: 973-353-5536
Email: radek.dobrowolski@rutgers.edu

Research: Metabolic control of stemness, autophagy, and lysosomal function in neurodegenerative diseases and cancer
Publications

Stylianos Fakas

Stylianos Fakas, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Department of Food and Animal Sciences
Alabama A&M University
Phone: 732-979-1301
Email: stylianos.fakas@aamu.edu

Research: Regulation of lipid synthesis and biofuels
Publications

Peter Gillies

Peter Gillies, Ph.D., FAHA, Professor Emeritus

Nutritional Sciences, SEBS
Email: pgillies@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

Research: Nutrigenomics and the relationships between nutrition and metabolic syndrome disorders
Publications

Barth Grant

Barth D. Grant, Ph.D., Professor

Department of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, SAS
Phone: 848-445-7339
Email: grant@dls.rutgers.edu

Research: Membrane trafficking in the endosomal system
Publications

Grace Guo

Grace L. Guo, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Pharmacology and Toxicology
Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy
Phone: 848-445-8186
Email: guo@eohsi.rutgers.edu

Research: Bile acid receptors
Publications

Gil-Soo Han

Gil-Soo Han, Ph.D., Research Associate Professor

Food Science, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-0268
Email: gshan@rutgers.edu

Research: Regulation of lipid synthesis
Publications

Olga Ilnytska

Olga Ilnytska, Ph.D., Visiting Scientist

Department of Nutritional Sciences, SEBS
Phone:848-932-1690
E-mail: ilnytska@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Intracellular cholesterol trafficking
Publications

Enver Izgu

Enver Cagri Izgu, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Chemistry and Chemical Biology, SAS
Phone: 848-445-4361
Email: ec.izgu@rutgers.edu

Research: Design, synthesis, and systems biochemistry of nucleic acids and lipids
Publications

Laurie Joseph

Laurie Joseph, Ph.D. Assistant Research Professor

Pharmacology and Toxicology
Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy
Phone: 848-445-1644
Email: lbjoseph@pharmacy.rutgers.edu

Research: Mechanism of skin injury and repair
Publications

Shengkan (Victor) Jin

Shengkan (Victor) Jin, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Pharmacology, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Phone: 732-235-4329
Email: victor.jin@rutgers.edu

Research: Autophagy in cellular maintenance: Implications in aging, cancer, and metabolic diseases
Publications

Erik Klein

Eric Klein, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Department of Biology-Rutgers Camden
Phone: 856-225-6335
Email: eric.a.klein@rutgers.edu

Research: Role of lipids in bacterial cell morphology
Publications

Hong Li

Hong Li, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology/Center for Advanced Proteomics Research, Rutgers-NJ Medical School, Newark
Phone: 973-972-8396
Email: liho2@njms.rutgers.edu

Research: Regulation of signal transduction and lipid metabolism by reactive oxygen and nitrogen species
Publications

Steven K. Malin, PhD, FACSM, Associate Professor

Department of Kinesiology and Health, SAS
Phone: 848-932-9525
Email: steven.malin@rutgers.edu  

Research: Insulin resistance, cardiovascular risk, obesity, type 2 diabetes, exercise, nutrition, pharmacology and bariatric surgery

Publications

Photo: Charles E. Martin, Ph.D., Professor.

Charles E. Martin, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus

Cell Biology and Neuroscience, SAS-DLS

Research: Regulation of fatty acid desaturation, modification, and elongation
Publications

Paul Meers

Paul R. Meers, Ph.D., Instructor

Plant Biology and Pathology, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-6230
Email: paul.meers@rutgers.edu

Research: membrane dynamics, drug delivery/transfection technologies, nanotechnology, biofilms, spectroscopic assays and imaging technologies, biofuels
Publications

Photo: Richard Mendelsohn, Ph.D., Professor II.

Richard Mendelsohn, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Chemistry, FAS, Newark
Phone: 973-353-5613
Email: mendelso@rutgers.edu

Research: Biophysics of membrane lipid interactions
Publications

Joseph T. Nickels, Jr., Ph.D., Director, Institute of Metabolic Disorders

Genesis Biotechnology Group
Phone:609-528-6670
Email: jnickels@venenumbiodesign.com

Research: Drug discovery for treating fatty liver disease
Publications

Andrew J. Nieuwkoop, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Chemistry and Chemical Biology, SAS
Phone: 848-445-2626
Email: an567@chem.rutgers.edu

Research: Magic angle spinning solid-state NMR of proteins, membranes, and materials
Publications

Apostolos Pappas

Apostolos Pappas, Ph.D., Adjunct Faculty

Food Science Graduate Program, SEBS; Skin Biology
Email: apostolos.pappas@rutgers.edu

Research: Lipid metabolism in skin cells; sebocyte and subcutaneous preadipocyte differentiation; ceramide synthesis in keratinocytes
Publications

Loredana Quadro

Loredana Quadro, Ph.D., Professor

Food Science, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-5491
Email: lquadro@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Maternal-fetal metabolism of vitamin A and its carotenoid precursor beta-carotene
Publications

Troy A. Roepke

Troy A. Roepke, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Animal Sciences, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-9454
Email: ta.roepke@rutgers.edu

Research: Interactions of steroids, high-fat diets, and endocrine disruptors on metabolism
Publications

Diana Roopchand

Diana Roopchand, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Food Science, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-0248
Email: dianaer@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Dietary phytochemicals and bacteria involved in chronic disease prevention
Publications

Harini Sampath, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Nutritional Sciences, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-0266
Email: harini.sampath@rutgers.edu

Research: Oxidative damage, metabolic homeostasis, and inflammation
Publications

Sue Shapses

Sue A. Shapses, Ph.D., R.D., Professor and Director, Center for Human Nutrition, Exercise, and Metabolism

Nutritional Sciences, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-9403
Email: shapses@rutgers.edu

Research: Bone mass, obesity and caloric restriction
Publications

Igor Shmarakov, Ph.D., Sc.D., Assistant Professor

Department of Animal Sciences, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-5617
Email: ishmarakov@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Molecular and cellular physiology of retinoids in health and disease

Publications

Labros Sidossis

Labros S. Sidossis, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor

Department of Kinesiology and Health, SAS
Phone: 848-932-9525
Email: lsidossis@kines.rutgers.edu

Research: Pathogenesis, prevention, and treatment of obesity and metabolic diseases; regulation of lipid metabolism
Publications

Judith Storch

Judith Storch, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor

Nutritional Sciences, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-1689
Email: storch@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Cellular lipid transport, structure and function of fatty acid-binding proteins
Publications

Alvaro Toledo

Alvaro Toledo, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Department of Entomology, Center of Vector Biology, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-
Email: alvaro.toledo@rutgers.edu

Research: Membrane lipid domains in vector-borne pathogens
Publications

Nilgun Tumer

Nilgun Tumer, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor

Plant Biology and Pathology, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-6359
Email: tumer@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Role of lipid signaling in trichothecene mycotoxin-mediated oxidative stress
Publications

Mike Verzi

Michael Verzi, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Department of Genetics, SAS
Phone: 848-445-9578
Email: verzi@dls.rutgers.edu

Research: Transcription factors contributing to intestinal health and disease
Publications

Malcolm Watford

Malcolm Watford, D.Phil., Professor

Nutritional Sciences, SEBS
Phone: 732-932-7418
Email: watford@sebs.rutgers.edu

Research: Role of amino acids in de novo fatty acid synthesis and glyceroneogenesis in adipocytes and mammary epithelial cells
Publications

Chaoyang Xue

Chaoyang Xue, Ph.D., Associate Professor

The Public Health Research Institute
Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
New Jersey Medical School-Rutgers, Newark
Phone: 973-854-3218
Email: xuech@njms.rutgers.edu

Research: Inositol acquisition and utilization during host-pathogen interactions and their impact on fungal pathogenesis
Publications