Research Interest and Contact Information

Lauren Aleksunes, Pharm.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor

Research: Membrane drug transporters

Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Phone: (848) 445-5518
Email: aleksunes@eohsi.rutgers.edu

Tracy G. Anthony, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Research: Regulation of lipid metabolism by amino acids

Department of Nutritional Sciences
Phone: 848-932-6331
Email: tracy.anthony@rutgers.edu

Dawn L. Brasaemle, Ph.D., Professor

Research: Biology of neutral lipid storage and release, functions of lipid droplet-associated proteins

Nutritional Sciences, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-6524
Email: brasaemle@aesop.rutgers.edu

Sara C. Campbell, PhD, Assistant Professor

Research: Obesity and gut microbiome, dietary fat and intestinal integrity, exercise, omega-3s and inflammation

Exercise Science, SAS
Phone: 848-932-7036
Email: saracamp@rci.rutgers.edu

George M. Carman, Ph.D., Board of Governors Professor and Director RCLR

Research: Biochemical regulation of lipid metabolism

Food Science, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-0267
Email: gcarman@rutgers.edu

Photo: Joseph L. Dixon, Ph.D., Associate Professor.

Joseph L. Dixon, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Research: Lipoprotein metabolism, lipid metabolism in diabetes and obesity

Nutritional Sciences, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-9039
Email: dixon@aesop.rutgers.edu

Stylianos Fakas, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Research: Regulation of lipid synthesis and biofuels

Department of Food and Animal Sciences
Alabama A&M University
Phone: 732-979-1301
Email: stylianos.fakas@aamu.edu

Peter Gillies, Ph.D., FAHA, Professor and Director IFNH

Research: Nutrigenomics and the relationships between nutrition and metabolic syndrome disorders

New Jersey Institute for Food, Nutrition and Health
Nutritional Sciences, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-3500
Email: gillies@AESOP.Rutgers.edu

Grace L. Guo, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Research: Bile acid receptors

Pharmacology and Toxicology
Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy
Phone: 848-445-8186
Email: guo@eohsi.rutgers.edu

Gil-Soo Han, Ph.D., Research Assistant Professor

Research: Regulation of lipid synthesis

Food Science, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-0268
Email: gshan@rci.rutgers.edu

Sarwar Hashmi, Ph.D.

Research: Lipid metabolic disorders

Rutgers Center for Vector Biology, SEBS
Phone: 732-932-9341
Email: sarwar.hashmi@rutgers.edu

Shengkan (Victor) Jin, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Research: Autophagy in cellular maintenance: Implications in aging, cancer, and metabolic diseases

Pharmacology, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Phone: 732-235-4329
Email: victor.jin@rutgers.edu

Hong Li, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Research: Regulation of signal transduction and lipid metabolism by reactive oxygen and nitrogen species

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology/Center for Advanced Proteomics Research, Rutgers-NJ Medical School, Newark
Phone: 973-972-8396
Email: liho2@njms.rutgers.edu

Photo: Charles E. Martin, Ph.D., Professor.

Charles E. Martin, Ph.D., Emeritus Professor

Research: Regulation of fatty acid desaturation, modification, and elongation

Cell Biology and Neuroscience, SAS-DLS

Paul R. Meers, Ph.D., Instructor

Research: membrane dynamics, drug delivery/transfection technologies, nanotechnology, biofilms, spectroscopic assays and imaging technologies, biofuels

Plant Biology and Pathology, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-6230
Email: meers@aesop.rutgers.edu

Photo: Richard Mendelsohn, Ph.D., Professor II.

Richard Mendelsohn, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor

Research: Biophysics of membrane lipid interactions

Chemistry, FAS, Newark
Phone: 973-353-5613
Email: mendelso@rutgers.edu

Joseph T. Nickels, Jr., Ph.D., Director, Institute of Metabolic Disorders

Research: Lipid metabolism and signaling, cardiovascular health

Genesis Biotechnology Group
Phone:609-528-667
Email: jnickels@venenumbiodesign.com

Apostolos Pappas, Ph.D., Adjunct Faculty

Research: Lipid metabolism in skin cells; sebocyte and subcutaneous preadipocyte differentiation; ceramide synthesis in keratinocytes

Food Science Graduate Program, SEBS; Skin Biology, J&J, CPPW
Phone: 908-874-1827
Email: APappas@its.jnj.com

Photo: Loredana Quadro, Ph.D., Assistant Professor.

Loredana Quadro, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Research: Metabolism of vitamin A and carotenoids during mammalian embryonic development

Food Science, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-5491
Email: quadro@aesop.rutgers.edu

Harini Sampath, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Research: Oxidative damage, metabolic homeostasis, and inflammation

Nutritional Sciences, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-0266
Email: sampath@aesop.rutgers.edu

Sue A. Shapses, Ph.D., R.D., Professor and Director, NJ Obesity Group

Research: Bone mass, obesity and caloric restriction

Nutritional Sciences, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-9403
Email: shapses@aesop.rutgers.edu

Labros S. Sidossis, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor

Research: Pathogenesis, prevention, and treatment of obesity and metabolic diseases; regulation of lipid metabolism

Exercise Science (Chair), SAS
Phone: 848-932-9525
Email: lss133@rci.rutgers.edu

Stavroula Sofou, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Research: Biomembranes and drug delivery systems

Biomedical Engineering
Phone: 848-445-6568
Email: ss1763@rci.rutgers.edu

Photo: Judith Storch, Ph.D., R.D., Professor.

Judith Storch, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor

Research: Cellular lipid transport, structure and function of fatty acid-binding proteins

Nutritional Sciences, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-1689
Email: storch@aesop.rutgers.edu

Nilgun Tumer, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor

Research: Role of lipid signaling in trichothecene mycotoxin-mediated oxidative stress

Plant Biology and Pathology, SEBS
Phone: 848-932-6359
Email: tumer@aesop.rutgers.edu

Malcolm Watford, D.Phil., Professor

Research: Role of amino acids in de novo fatty acid synthesis and glyceroneogenesis in adipocytes and mammary epithelial cells

Nutritional Sciences, SEBS
Phone: 732-932-7418
Email: watford@aesop.rutgers.edu

Chaoyang Xue, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Research: Inositol acquisition and utilization during host-pathogen interactions and their impact on fungal pathogenesis

The Public Health Research Institute
Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
New Jersey Medical School-Rutgers, Newark
Phone: 973-854-3218
Email: xuech@njms.rutgers.edu